Call now for your
Once you are arrested for DWI, an officer may take your license and provide you with a piece of paper that will serve as a temporary driver's license. That piece of paper is only valid for fifteen (15) days, but more importantly, you only have those fifteen (15) days to request a hearing on your license suspension. If you request a hearing timely a new temporary license will be sent to you in the mail and you will be able to drive until there is a final determination on your license suspension. If you fail to request a hearing within the first fifteen (15) days then you will lose your right to a hearing and your license will be suspended for a total of 90 days for a first offense. If you hire Harris Law within the first fifteen (15) days then Harris Law will request your hearing and send off for a hearing packet that will be analyzed by the attorney for defects that could result in you winning your driver's license hearing, and keeping your license. Harris Law can also advise you on how to retain your license irrespective of the outcome of the license hearing (WOW!!! GAME CHANGER). Every circumstance is different, so if driving is a necessity for you, then let Harris Law help you retain your license after a DWI arrest.
You were pulled over and arrested for DWI and have had a horrible night. You want to get your life back on track but do not know how. There are three things you need to know about the days immediately following a DWI arrest that are absolute game changers.
Sometimes the best evidence available in these cases is the video pulled from the officer's dash cam or the video from the jail during the booking process. This is due to the fact that officers would rarely, if not ever, document the mistakes they made during an arrest. What makes matter's worse is that in many jurisdictions in Missouri, the data retention policy of the law enforcement agency is 30 days for a video is deleted. In counties that have longer periods of retention the office will many times "lose" the video prior to trial or disclosure to the parties. When you hire Harris Law we immediately go to work requesting and collecting evidence before it is lost or destroyed. In cases where the videos are still destroyed then the case may be dismissed. However, time is of the essence so make sure to contact Harris Law immediately to set up you free consult.
First and foremost you are presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. While you may not feel this way after your experience with law enforcement, the truth is that Courts work very hard to protect a Defendant's rights. However, even beyond the standard presumption of innocence lies an inherent difficulty in proving that a person was driving a vehicle while impaired. Notice I didn't say "Driving while intoxicated" or "Driving with a BAC of .08 or higher". That is because the State of Missouri asks that you be actually impaired while driving a vehicle. What makes this even more difficult, is the states position that the impairment must be caused by some type of intoxicating substance (Drugs or Alcohol). Due to the constantly changing science and difficult nature of these types of cases, many times prosecutors will not file the DWI charges for many months after the actual arrest. Their failure to file charges quickly will not effect the status of your driver's license case, consequently. Harris Law helps their clients by using expert analysis to examine the evidence the State intends to use to prove guilt. Every case is different, so let Harris Law go to work on finding out if your case can be won.
1. YOU CAN AVOID LOSING YOUR LICENSE IF YOU ACT QUICKLY.
2. A DWI CASE IS HARD FOR THE STATE TO PROVE, AND MAY BE FILED MONTHS AFTER THE ARREST.
3. EVIDENCE THAT MIGHT HELP YOU WIN YOUR CASE IS SOMETIMES DESTROYED EARLY ON, AND YOU CAN STOP IT.